MedCost Clear Cost calculator

Compare / Zepbound vial vs KwikPen

Zepbound vial vs KwikPen

Same drug, two forms. What each costs and which one Medicare covers.

Zepbound Single-dose vial
$0 $250 $500 $750 $1000 $299 2.5 mg $399 5 mg $449 7.5 mg $699 $449 10 mg $699 $449 12.5 mg $699 $449 15 mg
Price per fill If a refill is more than 45 days late
Zepbound KwikPen (multi-dose)
$0 $250 $500 $750 $1000 $299 2.5 mg $399 5 mg $449 7.5 mg $699 $449 10 mg $699 $449 12.5 mg $699 $449 15 mg
Price per fill If a refill is more than 45 days late

Source: the makers' self-pay listings on TrumpRx.gov, checked Oct 17, 2026. Each chart has its own strengths: strengths of different drugs are not equivalent doses, so read the charts side by side, not bar against bar.

What the official sources say

Zepbound Single-dose vial

StrengthPrice per fillConditions in the official listingList price (WAC)
2.5 mg $299 — $1,087
5 mg $399 — $1,087
7.5 mg $449
On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $499.
$1,087
10 mg $449
On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $699.
$1,087
12.5 mg $449
On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $699.
$1,087
15 mg $449
On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $699.
$1,087

LillyDirect (Eli Lilly self-pay). TrumpRx lists this price for a quantity of 1 and does not state how many days it covers. We have not yet confirmed the supply length on LillyDirect.

Zepbound KwikPen (multi-dose)

StrengthPrice per fillConditions in the official listingList price (WAC)
2.5 mg $299 — $499
5 mg $399 — $499
7.5 mg $449
On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $499.
$499
10 mg $449
On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $699.
$699
12.5 mg $449
On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $699.
$699
15 mg $449
On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $699.
$699

LillyDirect (Eli Lilly self-pay). TrumpRx lists this price for a quantity of 1 and does not state how many days it covers. We have not yet confirmed the supply length on LillyDirect. The FDA label says each KwikPen contains 4 doses and Zepbound is injected once weekly.

From the FDA labels

Zepbound

Source: FDA label on DailyMed, set ID 487cd7e7-434c-4925-99fa-aa80b1cc776b, version 40, published Sep 02, 2026, effective Aug 28, 2026. Copied word for word; checked Oct 17, 2026. Full label

FDA-approved uses · label 1

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE on DailyMed

ZEPBOUND® is indicated in combination with a reduced-calorie diet and increased physical activity:

  • to reduce excess body weight and maintain weight reduction long term in adults with obesity or adults with overweight in the presence of at least one weight-related comorbid condition.
  • to treat moderate to severe obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) in adults with obesity.

Limitations of Use

ZEPBOUND contains tirzepatide. Coadministration with other tirzepatide-containing products or with any glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) receptor agonist is not recommended.

Dosage forms and strengths · label 3

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS on DailyMed

Injection: Clear, colorless to slightly yellow solution in pre-filled single-dose pens, single-dose vials, multi-dose vials, or single-patient-use KwikPens, each available in the following strengths. The multi-dose vials and single-patient-use KwikPen each contain 4 doses:

Single-dose Pen or Vial
2.5 mg/0.5 mL
5 mg/0.5 mL
7.5 mg/0.5 mL
10 mg/0.5 mL
12.5 mg/0.5 mL
15 mg/0.5 mL
Multi-dose Vial (4 doses per vial)
Dose per InjectionTotal Strength per Total VolumeStrength per mL
2.5 mg/0.6 mL10 mg/2.4 mL4.17 mg/mL
5 mg/0.6 mL20 mg/2.4 mL8.33 mg/mL
7.5 mg/0.6 mL30 mg/2.4 mL12.5 mg/mL
10 mg/0.6 mL40 mg/2.4 mL16.7 mg/mL
12.5 mg/0.6 mL50 mg/2.4 mL20.8 mg/mL
15 mg/0.6 mL60 mg/2.4 mL25 mg/mL
Single-Patient-Use KwikPen (4 doses per KwikPen)
Dose per InjectionTotal Strength per Total VolumeStrength per mL
2.5 mg10 mg/2.4 mL4.17 mg/mL
5 mg20 mg/2.4 mL8.33 mg/mL
7.5 mg30 mg/2.4 mL12.5 mg/mL
10 mg40 mg/2.4 mL16.7 mg/mL
12.5 mg50 mg/2.4 mL20.8 mg/mL
15 mg60 mg/2.4 mL25 mg/mL

Which drug, which dose, and whether to start, stop or switch are medical decisions. Ask your doctor or pharmacist.

Official sources for this page (5)
  1. “*Eligibility required, terms and conditions apply. Review full terms and conditions.”
  2. “*Eligibility required, terms and conditions apply. Review full terms and conditions.”
  3. “Starting July 1, 2026, Medicare covers these GLP-1 drugs: Foundayo® (tablet) Wegovy® (injection or tablet) Zepbound® (KwikPen® only. The program doesn’t cover single-dose Zepbound® vials or pens).”
    Medicare.gov: Weight loss drugs · as of Oct 17, 2026
  4. “You’ll pay a $50 copayment to the pharmacy for a one-month supply (either 28 or 30 days, depending on drug).”
    Medicare.gov: Weight loss drugs · as of Oct 17, 2026